1
2
3
4
5
6
1
2
3
4
5
6

On the Plain of Plenty

On the Plain of Plenty
Once upon a time, the Chinese characters of Yuen Long were literally “the plain of the plenty”. The alluvial basin, encompassing Kam Tin and Pat Heung to the east, Shap Pat Heung and Tai Tong to the south, Ping Shan and Hung Shui Kiu to the west, and Wang Chow and Tai Sang Wai to the north, is a rare expanse of flat land in hilly Hong Kong. Well irrigated and fertile, it had bountiful harvests under the blazing sun. The legend goes that rice from its paddy fields was offered to the emperors. Over time, various ethnic groups settled here, infusing the air with the aroma of home cooking from close and afar. As the new town developed, eateries sprouted along the main road. Citizens could affordably enjoy a hearty feast.

Now destined to become part of the Northern Metropolis, the plain of the plenty is in a state of flux. In this moment, how can we savour this place with artistic sensibility?

Chewing on food-related sites, six artists have cooked up our “Main Courses”. In a variety of artistic mediums and languages, these multisensory art projects ruminate on the substance of sustenance. “One the Side” is a dramaturgical presentation of small bites en route from Yuen Long town centre to Little Southeast Asia, Ping Shan and Lau Fau Shan. “Chefs’ Recommendations” stocktake culinary mementoes of the collaborating art and cultural practitioners. Sharing makes taste better--while filling your plate in this arts tour, you can share memorable flavours on a limited-edition postcard and on social media.

Please relish the depth of flavour in this loaded place. Bon appétit!

Tai Sang Wai x Tim Chan: In the Pond of Indifference

Various locations in Tai Sang Wai

Please respect the residents’ privacy and do not disturb their living environments. Please take away your trash.
Google Map

The vast sky above Tai Sang Wai is unblocked by high rises. What does it take to transform the saline shore into a habitat for freshwater fish? From an agricultural stronghold to a conservation zone for migrant birds, Tai Sang Wai has always been guarded by its custodians. When real estate is way more profitable than fish farming, the mirrored sky on the ponds is a reservoir of tenacity.

A sound walk by sound artist Tim Chan takes visitors on a multisensory journey—in search of the place’s energising sustenance for fish, birds and people.
 

Tim Chan composes music, creates sound art and loves photography. He pays tribute to heaven and earth through his music and sounds, and reflects on humans’ coexistence with all other beings. He thanks nature for endowing with us earl grey and the mandarin perch fish. The latter carries memories of his father: steam it for a minute a tael, simple and beautiful. He hopes these foods can fuel long journeys.

www.timtcchan.com

Seeds Lab x Monti Lai Wai-yi: Paddy-Go-Home

Tsing Tam Road, Shek Kong

Vis-a-vise the mainstream impression that agriculture sees no future, the founders of Seeds Lab started farming in their prime. Labouriously, gently and determinedly, they cultivate self-sustainability. Now, they sow experimental seeds: when little monsters stomp barefoot in the mud, the paddies get ready for the next growing season; when green sprouts grow into a golden harvest, we learn that food does not come from supermarkets but our land.

Observing from the side, farmer-artist Monti Lai Wai-yi leads participants to look for nourishment under Kai Kung Leng for a city-wide rice field.

"Monti" means a mountain. However, she seldom visits mountains, because most of the time, she is field-bound, busily observing the growth of plants. Her dedicated observation (instead of cultivation) earns her the nickname of "Mon (look in Cantonese) - ti (field)." Ten years have passed since she dived into the paddy fields. Observing by the farmside while farming with art is her deep practice.

Pun Chun Sauce and Preserved Fruit Factory x Cho Wing-ki: Enduring Taste

362 Tan Kwai Tsuen, Hung Shui Kiu

When an imported bottle of mass-produced sauce costs only a few dollars, the value of locally made condiments is beyond measure. For 125 years, Pun Chun Sauce and Preserved Fruit Factory has persisted with traditional methods. Its signature soy sauce matures under the sun, and all other products are also 100% made in Hong Kong. The characters of “Pun 品” and “Chun 珍” hold time and affectionate ties: once upon a time, sauce factories were all called “chun” because a drop of seasonings was precious enough in the humble days; Pun Chun was founded by three partners, thus the three “mouths” in the Chinese character “Pun.” Fourth-generation owner Mr Lai remembers swimming in the cooling conveyor. Director went through fire and water with his father. Everyone in the factory dined together…

With sauces on her palette, printmaker Cho Wing-ki shows how the seasoned factory left its marks.
 

Cho Wing-ki loves steps and processes. Printmaking looks repetitive; consistency is a quest of stability amidst constant material change. In the condiment factory, she is drawn to the aroma of sauces and the people who strive to preserve their tastes.

www.chowingki.com

Bei Bei Book House x Ray Chan See-kwong: Always a Bottle at Home

67 Tai Kong Po, Kam Tin
Google Map

Following a winding path, you will find Bei Bei Book House in the fields. The hospitable volunteers generously offer homely treats. All are the owner’s favourites. Two retired social workers founded this space for visitors to have a break from the hustle and bustle. Here they can enjoy slow life, play with dogs and cats, listen to the birds and chat with new acquaintances.

Ceramic artist Ray Chan See-kwong tailor-made a series of vessels for this leisurely space. Over teas and wines, visitors can taste nuanced flavours of a place.
 

Ray Chan See-kwong, a “clay experimentalist,” derives inspiration from food culture and cooking processes for his ceramic creations. With a diverse background in mathematics, singing and actuarial practice, Ray brings a unique perspective to his ceramic art. He merges baking and ceramic making in his exhibition B(read) and combines traditional salt-baking techniques with ceramics in the project Hi! Houses. In his recent exhibition, Vin de Hakka, Ray intertwines wine brewing and clay-making, infusing his ceramic works with elements of fermentation and wine culture. Through his innovative approach, Ray demonstrates the endless possibilities of ceramics beyond traditional forms. 

www.seekwong.hk/ IG seekwong

Hong Kong African Association x Yip Kai-chun: In the Village Lies a Continent

1. A Few Moments・Youth Hub, G/F, 119A, Kam Tin Road
2. Hong Kong African Association, Lo Uk Village, Wang Toi Shan
Google Map

So far yet so close–there is a Little Africa in Yuen Long. Among the émigrés, most came from the Igbo tribe, whose history goes all the way to prehistoric time. Over semo and egusi, we were at a loss with their priced yam. They call it “taro” in our language, but is it tapioca or something else? How can our knowledge of the African continent be almost non-existent?

Through the connections of the Hong Kong African Association, media artist Yip Kai-chun tries one foreign dish after another. Ruminating on people and an exodus, the artist builds bridges for intercultural connections.

Yip Kai-chun has a trash can stomach and dares to chow down anything. No matter how busy, he always remembers to eat. He had zero cooking experience before age 28 and couldn’t even cut ginger and cook instant noodles. Some earlier art projects got him to make rice dumplings, ground tea, amethyst jelly and Hakka yellow wine. Before On the Plain of Plenty, he had never heard of the little Africa in Yuen Long. He had tried less than a dozen of African dishes. 

https://yipkaichuns.com

A Few Moments・Youth Hub x Tang Kwok-hin: Wander

G/F, 119A, Kam Tin Road
Google Map

A Few Moments・Youth Hub was previously Kam Kwong kindergarten, attended by many present-day elders when they were little. Later, it became a Nepalese church. Eight years ago, the church teamed up with a non-profit organisation to make the space available to the neighbours. Now the refurbished yellow house is a place of worship on Sundays. On other days, it is open to the public as a youth centre and community space.

Mixed media artist Tang Kwok-hin lives in a walled village. In recent years, he has also opened doors for gatherings of people from all walks of life. On this occasion, he creates a site-specific interactive installation next door and invites guests over to reflect on the contemporary meaning of “dining together.”
 

Tang Kwok-hin grew up in a walled village in Kam Tin. Reticence cultivates a habit of remembering, feeling and knowing with the senses. Since his graduation from the Department of Fine Arts, CUHK in 2008, he has been immersed in creative environments, contemplating both life and art. In 2019, he founded 1983 to give room to exchange and dialogues among people. Food is always a medium on such occasions. It brings people together and evokes memories of numerous film and TV scenes where individuals, broken by catastrophes and seeking survival, gather around dining tables. This prompts Tang Kwok-hin to question: Why do we come together?

www.tangkwokhin.com

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. These may include cookies from Google Analytics. By using this website you consent to the use of these cookies.

1
2
3
4
5
6
1
2
3
4
5
6

圓塱食誌

圓塱食誌
「圓塱」是元朗昔日的名字,在被簡化之前,意思是盤形的靠水低地。這片土地幅員廣闊,東臨錦田、八鄉,南達十八鄉、大棠,西至屏山、洪水橋,北面有橫洲、大生圍,是山丘處處的香港少有的平原,而且水源充足,土壤肥沃,陽光下作物豐收,相傳畋畋稻田曾經出產進貢皇帝的絲苗;族群在不同時間點在這裏落腳定居,煮出各處家鄉風味;隨着新市鎮發展,大馬路食肆林立,小市民花費無幾,就能大快朵頤 。

未來,魚米之鄉要演變成北部都會區的一塊,塵土飛揚之際,用藝術的感知踏查今天仍在這裏找到的食事,味道怎樣?

《圓塱食誌》的「六道主食」,由不同媒介的藝術家,以形式各異的藝術作品,切入多個與食物有關的場景,讓五感細味箇中內涵 。「主食」以外,還有從元朗市中心及小南亞,邊走邊吃到屏山及流浮山的「小食拼盤」,從劇場構作的角度,一步一景,發現地方風味。一路走來的藝文工作者更合編了「廚師推介」,請大家自行到訪品嚐多個精選食物「景點」。藝遊間,你可以寄出期間限定明信片,分甘同味,亦可在社交媒體分享,一同撰寫這篇食誌。

希望你在這趟旅程吃得充實,在豐厚的塱地,迴味我城。

大生圍 x 陳庭章:《苟簡之塘》

大生圍各處

請尊重居民生活空間,避免打擾,並帶走個人垃圾。
Google地圖

大生圍的魚塘上,穹蒼沒有高樓阻擋。本來種鹹水稻的岸,要經過幾多代,才能成為淡水烏頭的塘?從種米種菜養魚養鴨,到今天給候鳥補給的生態保護區,大生圍一直是居民守護着的家園。當地產價格遠遠超過一尾魚,魚塘天水相連,背後有確固不拔的往事。

聲音藝術家陳庭章以聲音導航,讓耳朵眼睛鼻子舌尖,品嚐這片天地為魚、為鳥、為人帶來的力量。
 

作曲家陳庭章從事聲音藝術,愛好攝影。他用音樂和聲音創作表達對天和地的讚歎,思考人類如何與萬物共生。他最感恩天地帶來伯爵茶和桂花魚。桂花魚盛載着他和父親的回憶:蒸桂花魚,一両一分鐘,簡單和美。他希望這些食物,給予人力量走得更遠。

www.timtcchan.com

Seeds Lab x 黎慧儀:《屋企有塊小稻田》

石崗清潭路

主流社會說農業式微,Seeds Lab 創辦人在最好的年華走到田裏,粒粒皆辛苦,溫柔堅定地,耕種可持續的自給自足。現在,他們播種實驗:小魔怪赤腳在泥巴中踏踏玩玩,水田就為下一造稻米作好準備;看過青苗長成金黃的穀,我們學會食物的源頭不是超市,而是土地。

又是農夫、又是藝術家的黎慧儀帶參加者到田邊觀望,從雞公嶺下找養份,播一片穿透城市的米田。
 

黎慧儀英文名字叫Monti,解作山,卻甚少行山,因經常宅在田裏忙於觀看動植物的一舉一動,常只看,不耕,故被村裡人戲稱為「望田」。潛伏於稻田轉眼快十年,田邊觀望,寓耕於藝,是一場修練。

品珍醬園 x 曹穎褀:《珍味傳千里》

洪水橋丹桂村路362號

進口的量產醬料幾元一瓶,難得還有本地釀造。125年來,品珍醬園堅守傳統工藝,古法天然生曬,至今仍是百份百本地生產。「品」和「珍」兩個字,醞含時代,也有人情:從前醬園都以「珍」為字號,在吃得簡樸的日子,一滴醬油已是珍味;品珍由三位朋友合伙,所以有三個「口」。第四代老闆黎先生記得小時候在冷卻槽中游泳、廠長跟他爸爸並肩打拼、大伙兒每天一起吃飯⋯⋯

版畫藝術家曹穎褀以豉油醬醋創作,為百味陳雜的醬園留下印記。
 

曹穎褀喜歡步驟與工序,看似沉悶重覆的版畫創作,其實就是在不斷變化中的物料尋找穩定,保持作品的一致。在醬油廠被吸引的,除了醬油香,還有在工廠裡盡力保持味道的人們。

www.chowingki.com

比比書屋 x 陳思光:《總有一罌喺屋企》

錦田大江埔村67號
Google地圖

沿田間小路,走進比比書屋,義工徐徐地親切款待:熱茶、涼果、雪花酥,都是老闆娘的心頭好。兩位退休社工創立了這個讓人放下煩囂的空間,訪客可以在書叢田野間慢活一天,看看貓狗,聽聽蟲鳥,跟萍水相逢的人聊天,體會另一種生活。

陶瓷藝術家陳思光為這個讓人細味生活的空間,製作了一批形狀獨特的陶器,請訪客一小口一小口,品嚐變化微妙的地方風味。
 

陳思光是陶泥實驗者,經常從食物文化和煮食過程中,取得陶藝創作的靈感。他的背景涉獵廣闊,包括數學、歌唱和精算,為他的陶藝帶來了獨特的角度。在展覽B(read) ,他混合烘焙和製陶,而在《邂逅!老房子》中,陶瓷加入了傳統鹽焗煮法。近期展覽《家・釀》糅合了釀酒與泥塑,在陶藝作品中融入發酵和酒文化。透過創新的手法,他示範在傳統形式以外,陶瓷的無限可能。

www.seekwong.hk/ IG seekwong

香港非洲人協會 x 葉啟俊 :《小鄉有大洲》

1. 一間・青年館(錦田路119A地下)
2. 香港非洲人協會(橫台山羅屋村)
Google地圖

近在咫尺,原來元朗有個小非洲,離鄉別井的異鄉人,大多來自源遠流長的伊博族。第一次捏一團 semo 醮伊古司湯汁,餐桌上聽聞他鄉的寶貝作物,究竟是芋是薯?對一整片非洲大陸,我們的認知怎麼會如此蒼白?

在香港非洲人協會穿針引線之下,媒體藝術家葉啟俊嘗試一道又一道的他鄉菜,反芻族群和流徒,為那麼遠這麼近的交流搭建橋樑。

葉啟俊,垃圾肚,勇於放各種食物入口,係個即使幾忙都一定會記得食嘢嘅人。28歲前零烹飪,連切薑煮公仔麵都唔識。佢以前嘅藝術計劃,都有整過吓茶粿、擂茶、紫礦啫喱,同釀客家黃酒。喺《圓塱食誌》前,佢係唔知元朗有個小非洲,而食過嘅非洲菜十隻手指數得晒。

https://yipkaichuns.com

一間・青年館 x 鄧國騫:《走神》

錦田路119A地下
Google地圖

一間・青年館曾經是區內老一輩小時候上學的錦光幼稚園,後來成為尼泊爾社群的教會。八年前,教會與非牟利機構青年全球網絡合作,希望空間可以用來回饋社區,於是翻新而成的黃色小屋,現在逢星期日供教會聚會,其餘日子是青年中心及社區空間,門戶向所有人打開。

家住圍村的混合媒界藝術家鄧國騫,近年也常打開大門,邀請五湖四海的朋友到自己家中相聚。這一回,這位錦田街坊在家的毗鄰,設下回應場域的互動裝置,同時又邀請訪客登堂入室,觀照「聚餐」的現世意味。
 

鄧國騫在錦田圍村長大,自小寡言養成以感官進行情感記憶的收集,及作為認知世界的渠道。自2008年中大藝術系畢業後,一直沉浸在創作的氛圍中叩問生活與藝術。至2019年成立空間「一九八三」,凝聚及承載了許多人與人交流及對話的時刻。食物往往作為這些活動的中介,串連人們的情景,總讓他想起無數影視作品裡,生活支離破碎的人們因劫難與生存而共桌的飯局,我們因何走在一起?

www.tangkwokhin.com

為了讓您有最佳的瀏覽經驗,本網站使用了cookies小型文字檔案。這些檔案可能來自Google Analytics和Facebook。您瀏覽本網站,表示您同意使用這些檔案。