"Arts in the City: On the Plain of Plenty" Press Release

08 Mar, 2024

Arts in the City: On the Plain of Plenty

Depth of Flavour in a Loaded Place 

9 to 31 March 2024

Various locations, Yuen Long District Experience an artistic feast

(HONG KONG, 8 March, 2024) Following the success of the inaugural art walk of the Arts in the City -- Small Valley TAI HANG, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC) launches its second art walk --  On the Plain of Plenty in Yuen Long today. Designed by local curator Stephaine Cheung, Chan Tsz-lam and Zoe Hong, On the Plain of Plenty will be held from 9 to 31 March 2024, guiding the general public and visitors of Hong Kong to experience six site-specific artistic creations in Yuen Long. Guided tours and a variety of immersive arts activities are available for participants to discover Yuen Long through the lens of art and gastronomy.

 

On the Plain of Plenty    Ignite your artistic taste buds

 

In the past, the Chinese characters of Yuen Long were literally "On the Plain of Plenty". The alluvial basin, encompassing Kam Tin and Pat Heung to the east, Shap Pat Heung and Tai Tong to the south, Ping Shan and Hung Shui Kiu to the west, and Wang Chow and Tai Sang Wai to the north, is a rare expanse of flat land in Hong Kong. Well irrigated and fertile, it has bountiful harvests under the blazing sun. The legend goes that rice from its paddy fields was offered to the emperors. Over time, various ethnic groups settled, infusing the air with the aroma of home cooking from close and afar. As the new town emerged, eateries sprout along the main road. People can affordably enjoy a hearty feast.

 

Stephanie Cheung, curator of On the Plain of Plenty, said “On this plain of the plenty, we savour the care people and land give to each other, choices of life, commitment to inheritance, irrecoverable changes, relocations…Now destined to become part of the Northern Metropolis, the plain of the plenty is in a state of flux. In this moment, how can we savour this place with artistic sensibility? These flavours are not only telling of Yuen Long, but also Hong Kong.”

 

Ms Winsome Chow, Chief Executive of the HKADC, said "The launch of the first art walk small valley TAI HANG  of the Arts in the City Scheme last November received overwhelming response from locals and visitors. Guided tours and workshops were fully booked. After months of preparation, the second art walk On the Plain of Plenty is now ready to take you away from the hectic city life to experience the cultural charm of the rural area, to appreciate the beauty of Yuen Long from a brand new perspective through an array of site-specific artistic creations and arts activities."

 

Chewing on food-related sites, six artists have cooked up our “Main Courses”. Ray Chan See-kwong (ceramic art), Tim Chan Ting-cheung (sound/installation), Monti Lai Wai-yi (environmental art), Cho Wing-ki (printmaking), Tang Kwok-hin (mixed media) and Yip Kai-chun (media arts) each bring their unique artistic expressions to the table, inviting participants to savor the essence with all five senses.

 

The "Six Main Courses" are an absolute feast for the senses, offering a blend of colour, fragrance and flavour. They feature “In The Pond Of Indifference” by Tai Sang Wai X Tim Chan, “Paddy-Go-Home” by Seeds Lab X Monti Lai Wai-Yi, “Enduring Taste” by Pun Chun Sauce And Preserved Fruit Factory X Cho Wing-Ki, “Always A Bottle At Home” by Bei Bei Book House X Ray Chan See-Kwong, “in the village lies a continent” by Hong Kong African Association X Yip Kai-Chun, and “Wander” by A Few Moments・Youth Hub X Tang Kwok-Hin. These experiences are sure to leave you with endless memories to savour.

 

“One the Side” is a dramaturgical presentation of small bites en route from Yuen Long town centre to Little Southeast Asia, Ping Shan and Lau Fau Shan. “Chefs’ Recommendations” stocktake culinary mementoes of the collaborating art and cultural practitioners. Sharing makes taste better -- while filling your plate in this arts tour, you can share memorable flavours on a limited-edition postcard and on social media.

 

Prior to starting your artistic adventure, take a moment to explore the one-stop art tour website "Arts in the City" and browse through the "menu" of the On the Plain of Plenty art tour (http://www.artsinthecity.hk). Get ready for your journey and indulge your mind and body. Additionally, a variety of workshops, experiential activities and exhibitions are available for registration. Be sure to make registration as seats are served on a first-come-first-served basis. (Registration link: www.popticket.hk/event/on-the-plain-of-plenty).

 

Please relish the depth of flavour in this loaded place. Bon appétit!

 

 

About “Arts in the City”
“Arts in the City” is a project incorporating the uniqueness of arts, culture and tourism to provide a novel arts and cultural experience for both locals and travellers. The new initiative empowers us to reimagine and explore Hong Kong from different perspectives. After months of research and on-site visits, the curatorial teams and artists have designed two “Art Walks” in Tai Hang and Yuen Long, guiding participants to explore the hidden artistic gems in every corner of the district and discover the vibrant artistic colours of the city. The inaugural route Small Valley TAI HANG was successfully completed in November 2023. The route not only garnered significant media coverage but also attracted more than 51,000 visitors.

 

Another highlight of “Arts in the City” is its one-stop Arts x Tourism website http://www.artsinthecity.hk). It documented the artistic works of various Arts Walks, enabling the general public and visitors to choose their favourite “Art Walk” via mobile phone and embark on their own journey at any time to explore the history of the community and appreciate the work and performances of the artists.

 


About Hong Kong Arts Development Council 
Established in 1995, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC) is a statutory body set up by the Government to support the broad development of the arts in Hong Kong. Its major roles include grant allocation, policy and planning, advocacy, promotion and development, and special projects. The mission of HKADC is to support and promote the development of 10 major art forms in literary arts, performing arts, visual arts as well as film and media arts in Hong Kong. Aiming to foster a thriving arts environment and enhance the quality of life of the public, HKADC is also committed to facilitating community-wide participation in arts and arts education, encouraging arts criticism, raising the standard of arts administration and contributing to policy research.


Information of “Arts in the City” is available on the official website: http://www.artsinthecity.hk.

 

For “Arts in the City” updates and news, please follow:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/artsinthecityhk
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/artsinthecityhk
 

 

Click “Download PDF” to view the full article.

previous post
"On the Plain of Plenty" Leaflet
"On the Plain of Plenty" Leaflet
next post
On the Plain of Plenty Making Of
On the Plain of Plenty Making Of

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. These may include cookies from Google Analytics. By using this website you consent to the use of these cookies.

「城中藝遊:圓塱食誌」新聞稿

2024年3月8日

「城中藝遊:圓塱食誌」

以吃走訪 藝遊元朗

2024年3月9至31日

元朗區各處 品嚐一場藝術盛宴

(香港,2024年3月8日)繼「城中藝遊」計劃的首條路線「大坑小城」後,香港藝術發展局(藝發局)今日隆重推出第二條位於元朗的藝遊路線「圓塱食誌」。由本地策劃人張慧婷聯同陳子琳、項淑儀策劃的「圓塱食誌」,將於2024年3月9日至31日期間舉行,帶領香港巿民及旅客深入元朗區各處,嚐嚐六道場地特定的藝術創作,參與藝遊導賞團及形形色色的體驗活動。誠邀大家以吃走訪,藝遊元朗。

 

圓塱食誌 激發藝術味蕾 

 

「圓塱」是元朗昔日的名字,意思是盤形的靠水低地。這片土地幅員廣闊,東臨錦田、八鄉,南達十八鄉、大棠,西至屏山、洪水橋,北面有橫洲、大生圍,是香港少有的平原,而且水源充足,土壤肥沃,陽光下作物豐收,相傳畋畋稻田曾經出產進貢皇帝的絲苗;族群在不同時間在這裏落腳定居,煮出各處家鄉風味;隨着新市鎮發展,大馬路食肆林立,小市民花費無幾,就能大快朵頤 。

 

「圓塱食誌」的策劃人張慧婷表示:「在這片豐厚的塱地,我們吃下土地與人的互相守護、生活的選擇、對承傳的堅持、不可易轉的變遷……未來,魚米之鄉要演變成北部都會區的一塊,塵土飛揚之際,讓我們用藝術的感知踏查今天仍在這裏找到的食事,看看味道怎樣?圓塱的味道,訴說元朗,也說香港。」

 

香港藝術發展局行政總裁周蕙心女士表示:「『城中藝遊』計劃自去年11月推出首條藝遊路線『大坑小城』以來,大受巿民及旅客的歡迎,導賞團及工作坊全部爆滿。經過多月的籌備,第二條的藝遊路線『圓塱食誌』將帶領大家從煩囂的城巿走入寧靜的郊野,欣賞藝術家的在地創作,又或者親身參與各個藝術工作坊,以全新角度去欣賞元朗之美。」

 

「圓塱食誌」的「六道主食」,由不同媒介的藝術家,包括陳思光(陶瓷藝術)、陳庭章(聲音藝術)、黎慧儀(環境藝術)、曹穎祺(版畫藝術)、鄧國騫(混合媒介藝術)及葉啟俊(媒體藝術),以藝術創作切入多個與食物有關的場景,讓五感細味箇中內涵。

 

「六道主食」絕對是「色、香、味」俱全,分別有 大生圍 X 陳庭章 《苟簡之塘》、Seeds Lab X 黎慧儀 《屋企有塊小稻田》、品珍醬園 X 曹穎褀 《珍味傳千里》、比比書屋 X 陳思光《總有一罌喺屋企》、香港非洲人協會 X 葉啟俊 《小鄉有大洲》及一間・青年館 X 鄧國騫 《走神》,定必讓你回味無窮。

 

「主食」以外,還有從元朗市中心及小南亞,邊走邊吃到屏山及流浮山的「小食拼盤」,從劇場構作的角度,一步一景,發現地方風味。一路走來的藝文工作者更合編了「廚師推介」,請大家自行到訪品嚐多個精選食物「景點」。藝遊間,你更可以寄出期間限定明信片,分甘同味,亦可在社交媒體分享,一同撰寫這篇食誌。 



出發藝遊前,請先瀏覽「城中藝遊」的一站式藝遊網站,細閱「圓塱食誌」的藝遊「菜單」( http://www.artsinthecity.hk),為是次旅程作好準備,讓身心大快朵頤。當中一系列的工作坊、體驗活動及展覽現已接受報名,名額有限,先到先得(登記連結:www.popticket.hk/event/on-the-plain-of-plenty)。

 

希望你在這趟旅程吃得充實,在豐厚的塱地,迴味我城。

 



關於「城中藝遊」 



「城中藝遊」是一個糅合藝術文化與旅遊的項目,期望為香港巿民及遊客提供新穎的文化藝術體驗,賦予大家重新想像的力量,以不同角度探索香港。策展團隊與藝術家多月來分別在大坑及元朗兩個社區進行資料搜集和在地考察,設計出別具特色的「藝遊路線」,讓香港巿民及旅客可以隨着不同路線遊走大街小巷,發掘城市的各種藝術色彩。 計劃首條路線--「大坑小城」已於2023年11月順利完成,除獲得傳媒廣泛報導外,參觀人次逾51,000人,反應熱烈。


 
「城中藝遊」設有一站式的藝遊網站http://www.artsinthecity.hk,記錄了不同「藝遊路線」精彩內容和藝術作品,巿民及旅客可以隨時隨地以手機,揀選自己喜愛的路線進行探索,認識當區的歷史故事,欣賞藝術家的在地藝術創作及表演,發掘不同的藝術足跡。 
 

 

關於香港藝術發展局 


香港藝術發展局(藝發局)於 1995 年成立,是政府指定全方位發展香港藝術的法定機構。藝發局的角色包括資助、政策及策劃、倡議、推廣及發展、策劃活動等。藝發局的使命為策劃、推廣及支持包括文學、表演、視覺藝術、電影及媒體藝術之發展,促進和改善藝術的參與和教育、鼓勵藝術評論、提升藝術行政之水平及加強政策研究工作,務求藉藝術發展提高社會的生活質素。 
 

 

有關計劃最新消息,請緊貼:
「城中藝遊」網站:http://www.artsinthecity.hk.
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/artsinthecityhk
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/artsinthecityhk

 

 

按「下載PDF」觀看全文。
 

上一頁
「圓塱食誌」小冊子
「圓塱食誌」小冊子
下一頁
「圓塱食誌」製作花絮
「圓塱食誌」製作花絮

為了讓您有最佳的瀏覽經驗,本網站使用了cookies小型文字檔案。這些檔案可能來自Google Analytics和Facebook。您瀏覽本網站,表示您同意使用這些檔案。